The Game That Started It All


The Capital Classic is the nation’s most legendary high school basketball All-American game. Since 1974, it has been a beacon in the Washington, DC community, showcasing some of the nation’s top high school basketball talent. The game has become a stepping stone for many college All-Stars, NBA All-Stars and Basketball Hall of Fame recipients.

The Legendary Game Turns 51!

The 51st Anniversary of the legendary Capital Classic will take place on Saturday, April 13, 2024 at 1:00PM at the Events DC Entertainment & Sports Arena

The 51st Capital Classic

Saturday, April 13, 2024 at 1:00 PM

Entertainment & Sports Arena — Washington, DC

Tickets Now on Sale! Click Below



Latest News



Moses Malone


Michael Jordan


LeBron James

'03 MVP

Klay Thompson


Chris Paul


Carmelo Anthony


Ralph Sampson


Dominique Wilkins

'79 MVP

Jason Kidd


Magic Johnson


Grant Hill Capital Classic

Grant Hill


Patrick Ewing

'81 MVP

Washington D.C.

Other DC Attractions

Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

10th St. & Constitution Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20560

Schedule of Events
April 13, 2024

1:00 PM United States All-Americans vs Capital All-Americans

The Assist

Restoring the Capital Classic was not only to Protect This Game, but also to continue the guiding principle of Giving Back through philanthropy. Our community involvement centers on basketball and life skills clinics, utilizing alumni and other celebrities as mentors.

Pete Deoudes, Partnerships – 301.367.2954



Meet The Team

Capital Classic Ownership Group

Thomas Doyle

Pete Deoudes

Luis DaSilva, Jr.

Vernon Davis

Ricky Goings

Executive Committee

Tom Doyle
CEO, Hoop Culture & Capital Classic

Pete Deoudes
CFO, Hoop Culture & Capital Classic

Luis DaSilva
Founder Aiko Group, LLC, legendary Streetballer, acclaimed actor

Ricky Goings
Director of Alumni Relations Capital Classic

Lawrence Hamm
Events DC Senior Director, Business Development

Greg Kristof
Chief Development Officer 3Step Sports/Founder Zero Gravity Basketball

Rob Kennedy
Founder The Hoop Group

DeMaurice Smith
Executive Director of the NFLPA, retired